Two peas in a pod

As you may be able to tell from this blog I have a little bit of the slapdash about me. I am not someone who spends hours trying to perfect something. More of a better-get-it-down-as-quickly-as-I-can type. If I get it down at all! It is not something I am proud of as it doesn’t really set you up well in life, and it is definitely not something I wanted my kids to inherit. Luckily (in fact lucky, lucky me) I married a man who is all about the detail, is a stickler for getting it right and is what is commonly known as a perfectionist. The genes are strong in him and today I had proper proof that Big Cub is much more like his pa in than I realise. We had Parents Evening a few hours ago (it definitely lends itself to those capital letters) and I am one super happy ma! Big Cub got heaped with praise for being a gentle, kind boy (again that’s like his dad) who tries really hard, doesn’t give up and keeps on going til he gets it right. There have been a few ishoos with the handwriting vs fine motorskills malarkey and Big Cub is also left handed. Writing and drawing have not been easy and I know that at times this has got BC a little bit down, and it does bother him (don’t get me started on the whole ‘why do we have to get our teeny tinies writing when they should be playing’ thing.. .) Anyway, over the last few weeks there has been a fantastic improvement and it’s all down to his determined attitude. He doesn’t give up and that makes me so proud. When I had kids I wanted to inspire them and make them proud. I didn’t realise that a lot of the time it’s them that inspire us. Maybe (and I only say maybe) it will make me a little bit more determined to keep on with the blog. I will NOT give up!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

